Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Kaija Saariahosta Chosen By Carnegie Hall

(Photo: Heidi Piiroinen/HS)
Carnegie Hall has chosen Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho to the be composer-in-residence for the 2011-12 season. The season will start November 30 with Hannu Lintu leading the Avanti Chamber Orchestra. In the spring concerts will include the French vocal ensemble Soloistes XXI, the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra featuring Karita Mattila as soloist and conductor David Robertson, as well as the Cleveland Orchestra under Franz Welser-Möst. Saariaho is the most decorated and renowned Finnish composer of this generation. Her biggest success with opera compositions for companies in Salzburg, London, Paris, Santa Fe, Helsinki and Toronto. For more information about concerts, go the Carnegie Hall website here

No comments:

Post a Comment