Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Erwin Schrott Ready For Sony Release on April 29, 2011

"Celebrated opera star Erwin Schrott dedicates his debut album on the label to the irresistible and passionate music of his Latin American origin. This highly personal album has great significance for Erwin and comes from the depth of his heart. He chose to collaborate with Astor Piazzolla’s former pianist Pablo Ziegler, who not only plays piano on the album, but also provides both authentic musical arrangements, as well as his own original compositions. The imaginative and intriguing program features a varied and exciting selection of passionate tangos by Astor Piazzolla, Pablo Ziegler and Juan Carlos Cobian as well as a number of evocative Argentinean and Brazilian
folk songs. Rojotango (Red Tango) forms a leitmotiv to the whole album and illustrates the emotional range featured in Tango: “ a mixture of passion, excitement, pain, bliss, torment and freedom” as Erwin Schrott puts it. The music of South America, steeped in sultry passion, irresistible dance rhythms and melancholic reflection is a unique challenge for the vocal and interpretive abilities of a great singer. Rojotango promises to reveal new facets of Erwin’s sensuously dark, chocolaty voice. This album will appeal to opera fans, a contemporary lifestyle audience and genuine fans of tango nuevo." [Source]

1. Rojotango
2. Oblivion
3. Chiquilin de bachin
4. Gracias a la vida
5. Agua y vino
6. Saveiros
7. Los pajaros perditos
8. Milonga en el viento
9. Rinascero
10. Insensatez

No comments:

Post a Comment