Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Sony Classical Digs Deep For Rarities on Verdi Bicentennial

Sony Classical has taken the opportunity to mine the treasure trove of their back catalog (featuring recordings from inherited labels of RCA Victor Red Seal, Columbia, and CBS Masterworks) to celebrate the 200th anniversary of Giuseppe Verdi's birth. Some rarities are unearthed for the first time on this occasion, while others have had previous incarnations on compact disc in the past. Of particular interest is the album "A Verdi Collaboration" featuring soprano Anna Moffo with conductor Franco Ferrara. Making its appearance for the first time on CD, it is a welcome tribute from the discography* of Ms. Moffo who passed away in 2006. Track listing from this 1962 recording includes:
1. Vespri Siciliani, Act V: "Mercè, dilette amiche"
2. Ernani, Act I: "Ernani involami"
3. Aida:, Act III: "O patria mia"
4. Il trovatore, Act IV: "D'amor sull'ali rosee"
5. Giovanna d'Arco, Prologue: "O ben s'addice questo torbido cielo"
6. Otello, Act IV: "Salce, Salce - Ave Maria"
7. Un ballo in maschera, Act III: "Morrò ma prima in grazia"
8. Simon Boccanegra, Act I: "Come in quest'ora bruna"

*Sony Classical would do well to look at the soprano's other recordings in the vault that could be released in a box-set tribute: "Anna Moffo Sings Berlin," "French Opera Arias," "Dream Duet" with Sergio Franchi, "Songs of Debussy," "Anna Moffo Sings Gershwin," "Bist du's, lachendes Glück" and "True Love" duet albums with Rudolf Schock, "Film music of Ennio Morricone," and the complete recording of Massenet's "Thais." In the meantime, there is a 10-CD collection that will satisfy some needs!

After the jump are several more of the original cover art releases of Verdi works by Sony Classical that will be showing up mid-summer in the international markets.


  1. I second your notion (regarding an Anna Moffo boxset by Sony Classical). I have been waiting for an Anna Moffo boxset (preferably...wonderfully remastered and not compressed) for years. I already have her RCA Victor debut and A Verdi Collaboration but I wouldn't mind having them in mini LP (front and back...hate it when they only do the front) format as long as I saw the other releases in your side note along with Anna Moffo/Leopold Stokowski: Canteloube: Songs of the Auvergne / Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras / Rachmaninoff: Vocalise.

    If done with care and a genuine knowledge of Anna's catalogue/discography with RCA - this could be a wonderful release. It wouldn't surprise me if there were an unreleased record in the RCA vaults.

  2. Thought you might want to know...

    Verdi: Luisa Miller (Amazon: B00YOMQO5K), Verdi: Rigoletto (Amazon:B00YTY119W) and Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor (Amazon: B00YTY11FQ) - all featuring Moffo will be released on September 11, 2015. Apparently - some if not all - are newly remastered in 24 bit.

  3. OH SNAP!
    Anna Moffo : The Complete Rca Recital Albums to be released on November 13, 2015 via Sony Music Classical!

    I posted info here:

    1. This is great news! I'll repost on the main site as well to get as much exposure as possible. Thank you.