Saturday, August 30, 2014

Renée Fleming Brings Christmas Early With Latest Decca Release

"Christmastime in New York City is a magical and timeless experience beloved by New Yorkers and visitors from around the world. Picture a horse-drawn carriage in snow covered Central Park passing tree lined streets filled with twinkling lights. Come in from the cold, snuggle up by the fire and let these intimate renditions of holiday classics fill your home with Christmas cheer. American soprano Renée Fleming's first-ever holiday album celebrates the beloved and iconic Christmas season in New York City. From Rockefeller Center to the holiday windows lining 5th Avenue, the essence of the city at the most wonderful time of year is captured on Christmas in New York. With guests representing such genres as jazz, pop and classical, this album will appeal not only to Flemings core classical fan base but too all that embrace the holiday season. Joining Fleming for the Christmas celebration are guest artists ranging from Rufus Wainwright and Gregory Porter to Wynton Marsalis and Kelli O Hara. In total, Fleming and her guests have won 16 Grammy awards across multiple categories. Renée Fleming's elegant persona along with the intimate arrangements of holiday classics makes this album perfect for holiday parties, stocking stuffers and as a treasured holiday gift. This sophisticated album is sure to be a perennial favorite. An exclusive recording artist with Decca since 1995, Renee Fleming is known mostly as an opera singer with a career that has encompassed numerous genres and styles. This past February, Fleming became the first classical singer in history to perform the National Anthem at the Super Bowl, which was enjoyed by more than 111.5 million viewers in the US. The release of this album will be supported by Renée Fleming's appearance on the nationally broadcasted Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade and local and national holiday events along with a December pledge PBS Christmas special." [Source] The complete track list and release date schedule can be found after the jump.

Release Dates:
United States, Germany, France, United Kingdom - October 14, 2014
Japan - October 20, 2014

Track Listings:
1. Winter Wonderland with Wynton Marsalis
2. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas with Gregory Porter
3. Silver Bells with Kelli O Hara
4. Merry Christmas Darling with Chris Botti
5. Christmas Waltz
6. Who Knows Where the Time Goes with Brad Mehldau
7. Sleigh Ride with Wynton Marsalis
8. Snowbound with Kurt Elling
9. In the Bleak Midwinter with Rufus Wainwright
10. Central Park Serenade with Gregory Porter
11. The Man with the Bag
12. Love and Hard Times with Brad Mehldau
13. Still, Still, Still with Kurt Elling